About District


Sangli district is located on the south and southeast of Maharashtra. The district’s area is around 8,572 square feet. That means there are districts of Satara in the north and north east, Solapur in the north and northeast, Bijapur (Karnataka) in the east, Belgaum in the south, Kolhapur in the south, and Ratnagiri in the west. Shirala taluka on the west comes in the main line of Sahyadri. The western part of the district is mountainous.

Talukas of Sangli district :- Shirala, Walwa, Tasgaon, Khanapur (Vita), Atpadi, Kavathe Mahankal, Miraj, Palus, Jat and Kadegaon

The district has different geographical, economic and social status. Jat, Atpadi, Kavthe Mahankal are the permanent drought-hit talukas. Many villages in Palus, walwa, Miraj talukas are always at risk of flood. Shirala, Khedgaon, Khanapur are hill stations. At one end there is a forest in Shirala taluka. On the other hand, lots of desert land in Jat taluka. Sangli’s half-maternal behavior works in the Kannada language on the Maharashtra-Karnataka border. The east-west length of the district is 205 km and the north-south length is 96 km.

Sangli districts major rivers are Krishna, Warna. The length of Krishna river in the district is 105 kms. The temperature of the district is between 14 degree centigrade and maximum of 42 degrees centigrade. The district’s average rainfall is 400-450 mm. The population of the district in 2011 is 28,20,575.


South Satara district of six talukas of Satara district and two talukas of Karnataka were formed on 1-8-1949. It included villages under Jat, Aundh, Kurundwad, Miraj and Sangli institutions. Later on 21 November 1960, after the formation of United Maharashtra, South Satara has been named as Sangli district. In this district, in the year 1965 new two Talukas of Kavthe Mahankal and Atpadi were created. In 1999, the government of Maharashtra (All India Government) produced 10th taluka of Palus taluka and later government on 28 March 2002, in the district Kadgaon. The Ganpati Temple of Sangli is private and therefore all its expenses done are by Shrimantraje.

Specially it is an indication of Marathi language. Sangli district is the source of Marathi play which has a permanent place in the lives of Marathi people. Here, Vishnudas Bhave presented the first Marathi drama Sita Swaynwar.

Vithojirao Chavan, who cut the edge of Aurangzeb’s camp and was the birthplace of the Khandya heroes like Pranate Nana Patil of the Opposition. The Sangli is also famous for the artists’ district. The manufacture of fine quality fibers is a feature of Sangli district.

The birthplace of Vasantdada Patil, the birthplace of the organization, Khankhun, Sundar Krishnakakath and Sahakar Mahasari can also be highlighted in Sangli. The district, which is known as theater and artists, is trying to make progress in the industrial and agricultural sectors.

There are many sugar factories in Sangli district. Vasantdada Patil Shetkari Sahakari Sugar Factory is a co-operative sugar factory in Asia No. 1 of this region.

Narayan Shreepad Rajhans, alias Balgandharva, (born June 26, 1888; Nagothane, Sangli, Maharashtra – 15th July, 1967), popularly known as Marathi theater and film actors in the early twentieth century, Singers and Playwright In spite of not acting in theater, the Balgandharva gained big popularity due to their beautifully painted female roles. He also has extraordinary influence on singing styles such as Khayal, Thumri, Ghazal, Dadra and Bhaktigaiti. The teacher of Balgandharbhar Bhaskarbua Bakhale and Master Gurudev of Lord Krishnarao were present. During the initial period of his career, Bal Gangadhar Tilak honored his song Balgandharva with his title. Later they became popular with that name.

Historical significance

The Sangli district, which has ancient history, experienced the rise and fall of power of Maurya, Satvahan, Wakataka, Rashtrakut, Yadav, Bahamani and other such kingdoms. Sangli was an independent organization during the Peshwa period. These institutions were ruled by the Patwardhan family. Miraj is also an institution. In the pre-independence civil disobedience movement, a great satyagraha was started at Bilasi in Shirala taluka of the district. Gorakhnath Maharaj (Second Nathantale) is the world famous Nagpanchami celebration started in 32 Shirala in Shirala. The folktale in Miraj is famous, and the vessels are sent worldwide.


National Highway No. 4 is a highway connecting the cities of Pune and Bangalore to the city. The highway passes through the district.

Miraj-Pune and Miraj-Kurduvadi-Latur depart from the railway line. Miraj is the important railway junction in the district. Sangli is an important district and it is a good place to go.


Yellow, red, brown land in the western part of the district, especially in Shirala taluka; In the Miraj, Tasgaon taluka, black and stagnant land is found in the valley of Krishna, Warna and Yerla rivers.

Sorghum is a major crop in Sangli district and is popular in this region. Sangli’s turmeric and turmeric-market here are famous in India. Sugarcane is also grown on a large scale in the district. In the recent past, Sangli district has been well-known for its production, in which Tasgaon and Miraj talukas are leading the district in grape production. Grape-making industries are growing. Besides, tobacco production is being grown in a large part of the Krishna river basin – in Miraj, Tasgaon and Walwa talukas.

Major crops in the district :- Bajri, Bhat (rice), Jowar, wheat, maize, sugarcane, groundnut, turmeric, soybean, grapes, pomegranate, cotton.

State structure

Sangli, Palus-Kadegaon, Khanapur, Tasgaon-Kavthe-Mahankal and Jat are the constituencies of the Sangli Lok Sabha constituency. (Islampur and Shirala assembly constituencies of the district are connected to Hatkanangale Lok Sabha constituency of Kolhapur district.)

Legislative Constituency

There are eight constituencies in the district: Miraj, Sangli, Islampur, Shirala, Palus-Kedegaon, Khanapur, Tasgaon-Kavthe Mahankal and Jat.

There are 61 constituencies of Zilla Parishad in the district, whereas the Panchayat Samiti has 122 constituencies.